7 days in & no problem staying on budget so far! The oldest keeps asking to go to the store to buy stuff (Christmas money is burning a hole in his pocket!), but I keep saying no. I'm mean like that. I really don't need any potential temptation. Plus, the littlest is sick, so we don't need to go out & share germs. I'm considerate. Sometimes.
I did go to HEB on Friday, and spent $100 (gasp!!) on gluten-free snacks & a few other things. That brings our total to $125 so far, plus whatever the final total is for Farmhouse Delivery (so, I'm thinking right around $200 as of tomorrow). Speaking of Farmhouse Delivery, tomorrow is our first delivery day. I can't wait to see how awesome it is. Plus, I'm tired of seeing a bare fridge. Sadly though, there are still some staple-type things we need. I swear I feel like I'll never get ahead on grocery related stuff!! There are ALWAYS things we need from the store!! Groceries are definitely our biggest money suck. I wonder how typical that is...
Oh! Funny thing, the other day I took the oldest in to open a savings account at our bank. The next day the lady that helped us called me. Turns out, we're eligible for a 5% cash back credit card from them. She had some line about how rare & awesome that is, but I had a line about not wanting a credit card. She tried to guilt me into it, but I don't really do high-pressure guilt trips. ESPECIALLY for credit cards. We do have a credit card that we use, but it's paid off every month (hubby uses it to pay for work expenses that he gets reimbursed for & we use it fir gas). We originally started using it so we'd get points to pay for our Costco membership, but that doesn't work now, so we use it for other fun things. Anyway, we sure don't need another card, we don't really even need the one we have.
Anyway, I thought it was really ironic, here I am trying to teach my 5 year old about savings & that flags us to receive a credit card offer. You just gotta love banks. ;)
No comments:
Post a Comment